Opening hours: Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM and from 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM

The town of Oryahovo is situated in a picturesque hilly area on the right bank of the Danube. It charms with beautiful nature, ancient history and warm hospitality. The favourable living conditions in the area have attracted people from different times. Archaeological studies testify to the existence of settlements since the beginning of the Neolithic Age. The Thracians of the Tribali tribe have left us remarkable finds - late Mycenaean armoured swords, jewellery, weapons and household items. The development of the Roman culture is connected with the creation of the ancient fortresses "Variana", "Valeriana", "Pedoniana", "Burgosonus" and "Aedava", an important part of the Danube Roman limes. The fortress of Variana was visited by Emperor Diocletian in 294. The Roman road from Belgrade to Constantinople passed here. In the Middle Ages Oryahovo had the role of an important fortification on the northern border of the Bulgarian state. The remains of the medieval fortress "Kamaka", built in the 9th century and used until the end of the 16th century, are still preserved. The first references to it are found in a Hungarian charter from 1283. The following written sources tell of the battle of the fortress of the knights of the crusade of King Sigismund of Hungary in 1396.

In the XVII-XVIII centuries, the Renaissance era, Oryahovo established itself as an administrative and economic centre in the Ottoman Empire. It was a major supply point for goods. It was a port where Austrian, French, Russian and English ships stopped. In a book from 1726, printed in Brussels, Oryahovo is noted as one of the important Danube-side towns. In 1837 the church of St. George". The year of foundation of the community centre in the town is 1871.

After the liberation from Ottoman rule Oryahovo has its own specific colour - lively trade on the Danube, rich cultural and educational life and first achievements in industry. The first mayor was the revolutionary activist Tseko Valchev. For 10 years, during the periods 1878 - 1882 and 1884 - 1889, Oryahovo was the district centre. At the end of the 19th - beginning of the 20th century, the appearance of the town changed with the newly built buildings, whose architectural style had a Western European influence. In 1911 the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was completed. In 1936 a beautiful community building was opened in the centre of the town, designed by the architects from Oryahovo Vasilov and Tsolov. Many other prominent personalities are connected with Oryahovo. Among them are the painter-textile artist prof. Marin Varbanov, People's Artist Andrey Chaprazov, prof. Tseko Torbov, the opera singer Maria Bohacek, the painter Sergei Ivoilov. Diko Iliev, the folk composer of choirs and marches, who has been creating brass bands throughout Northwest Bulgaria, has been working in Oryahovo for 42 years. The Diko Iliev Brass Band Festival is a cultural emblem of the annual fair days of Oryahovo, held in August.

Oryahovo proudly preserves its history and builds its future on the solid foundations of the past.